becoming radical.

Everyday I watch the news. And every day I find it scary. There is a lot of scary stuff going on. And almost every day there is some reference to the middle east and radicalized Muslims. It is a touchy subject. Especially because our society seems to want to be so politically correct and accepting of everyone. Except Christians. As a Christian I am marginalized and judged and made to feel like my choice of faith is backward. But here is something I find interesting, if I were to become a radical Christian, if I were to so wholly live my faith that I could be called a radical, I would be the nicest, most giving, most loving, most caring person ever. Radical Christianity, based on new testament gospel that grew out of the rich history of the old testament, is full of love and grace and mercy and caring. There is no judgement or oppression preached as admirable anywhere in the bible. Even the old testament times of war were a result of human error and sin that God was trying to correct, not a result of God trying to be mean. And even in the old testament, carried through the new testament, is a message of patience and forbearance.  I am to be patient and caring and loving to everyone. I am to be careful with my speech and actions, I am to serve whole heartedly, to love unabashedly,  to put everyone else first. I am to respect authority, be it political or municipal, police or politicians. I am to share the wealth God has given me. I am to be everything that Christ was. Radicalized, Christianity is purely good, purely perfect. Which is why I am so baffled by the world attempting to say Christianity is bad. The faith isn’t bad. People are bad. People sin and corrupt what is meant to be good. The news every day is filled with stories of people sinning. Imagine if we were all radical Christians, if we lived the gospel in a radical and real and heartfelt way. Imagine how amazing the world would be. So this is going on my to do list. I want to build my base, my knowledge of scripture. I want to have the understanding of the Word that will help me to live my faith. And then I want to live radically the faith I have. I want to live radically the challenges Christ laid before me with his life. I want the world to see my heart and my faith through the way I live. Radical faith for good in a world where radical has become bad.

One thought on “becoming radical.

  1. Hold on to the armour of God it is our strentgh against the anti christ.Let your love so shine before everyone.

Leave a comment