the big difference

I saw a question someone had posted on social media a while ago, and while I struggled to formulate a response at the time, I haven’t been able to get it out of my mind. It may have taken me a while, but I think I have puzzled it out. Basically, the question was “why are Christians so insistent on their religion being the only right one when there are so many others out there?” And it really is a good question, one that I should have been able to speedily and succinctly answer. But I had a hard time getting the words right. I know that there are a lot of things that are subjective and experiential about my faith. I cannot just say “because that is what I believe to be true.” And there are so many people who would be able to fire back an answer speedily. I want to be able to defend my faith, not in a way I understand, but in a way the world at large can understand, even if it doesn’t agree with my answer.

What makes Christianity so different? And why are Christians so insistent that our way is the right way?

Jesus. Jesus is what makes Christianity so different. Not just as a man who walked the earth, but a man who was actually God. And not just God, but God coming to teach and train, and then die. And not just die, but forever defeat and defy death by rising again on the third day.

Why is this so significant? Because it is different than other other religion (that I have studied or read of). While there are other religions that acknowledge the existence of Jesus, Christianity is the only one that recognizes the significance of His death and resurrection. To every other religion, He was merely a prophet. To Christians, He is Lord and Savior.

The Savior part is especially important. I have yet to read of or find mention of any other religion that starts at the end point. To be exact, there is no other religion that promises salvation and heaven before it asks anything of its proponents. Every other group requires obedience. To achieve salvation you must diligently do X,Y, and Z. Which is impossible. There is no one who can do all the things asked with proficiency 100% of the time. It is an ask that is in opposition to the very fallible nature of humanity. This kind of religion also fails in a key way; while it might require obedience of action, it has no way to reform thought. Therefore, while someone may be obedient in action, their motivation and thought process is more selfish than servant. In a works based organisation, even if the works required are beneficial and helpful and kind, the motivation becomes selfish and calculating. An “if I do this well, than I will get that later,” kind of mentality. There is no altruism in works based theology.

There is also a big question mark. There is no way of gauging or knowing if you have done X, Y, and Z well enough to achieve the salvation or enlightenment. There is always something that needs to be done better. How, then, can anyone be certain of their saved position? Even working towards a goal of enlightenment and nothing else after, there is no full reward. There is only ever working harder and harder. And what is at the end? Do you come to the end feeling like you are enlightened or only see all the ways you need further enlightenment? What scale is it measured on? Or is it a different scale for every person? The waters become muddy. Don’t get me wrong, I have seen the same pitfalls in some Christian churches. There are many Christians who by into the idea that if they have enough faith, then they will get better, or get richer, or have an easier life. But even that undermines the purpose and point of the gospel. True Christianity is not trading faith or works for salvation.

True Christianity is recognising that Christ died to save me before I ever thought to try to earn it. Jesus taught that salvation comes first with faith and belief in his death and resurrection for my sins, before I ever admitted I was a sinner. Christian salvation is offered with no caveats or work-based requirements. It is Jesus assigning worth to me that I didn’t deserve. Christianity starts at the end by assuring salvation for those who believe and have faith. That is it. Just true faith and belief. The rest grows from there. Christianity is not a set of strict rules, but a fence of boundaries. It is not laying down the law, but Christ lovingly saying “these things are harmful and I want to help you not do them.” It is the gift of the Holy Spirit to provide conviction and guidance to keep me from sinning the same sins over and over. It is a desire to serve and work birthed from a gratitude for the sacrifice that gave me my salvation without asking me to earn it. And while this is the greatest gift, it is the greatest stumbling block. My pride wants to rebel and throw off this idea of unearned salvation. My inner sinfulness wants to feel like I am special enough to be able to be good enough to earn something. Which is why all other religions have a measure of popularity. They satisfy the pride of their proponents. They appeal to the desire to do better without requiring full humility.

This difference, this salvation first, is what not only marks the difference in Christianity, but also one reason why Christians believe so firmly that their way is the only way.  While every religion proclaims to be the right way, they don’t offer the end goal before requiring something first. This is something that really needs to be examined. All these other groups, while using different parameters, require obedience before anything else. To me, this is such a suspect formula; why should I believe a religion to be true when its first priority is satisfying human pride. Christ asked for faith and belief before anything else. In Christianity, obedience is a by-product of a faith that is humbled by salvation given at no cost. It is obedience not fueled by human will-power, but by the love of God and the work of the Holy Spirit. It is not me, as a person, working against my nature; it is God helping me live in humility and obedience. Nothing in the Christian life is done on my own power unless I choose it. I have the power of God at my disposal. I never stand alone, face temptation alone, parent alone, face opposition alone, unless I choose to. And while some may call that a crutch, I call it comfort. I never have to feel lonely, overwhelmed, adrift, overcome. I am shored up by the sufficiency of God. And I am forever secure because of the salvation offered by God.

So that is my answer, in full. Christianity will always stand alone because the irrefutable death and resurrection of Jesus cannot be duplicated by any other religion. And that has eternal implications.

 

Leave a comment